EOL Playlist

In the back of EYES OF LIGHTNING, you’ll find a playlist. The songs can POSSIBLY spoil the story if you haven’t read it yet. So if you’re worried about spoilers, stop reading this page!!

I’m not one of those authors who listen to music while writing. I actually prefer silence (if the snores of my son in the next room count as silence). However, when I’m not sitting at the computer, I love to listen to music. For every novel or work in progress, I create a playlist on my iPod. Then while I’m cleaning the house or cooking or doing some mundane chore, I entertain myself by listening to the playlist and plotting the story in my head. The music inspires me and helps with brainstorming.

I believe that every chapter is a mini-story. At least one important scene needs to happen in a chapter. So when I’m writing I ask myself, “What’s the theme of this chapter? What am I trying to convey?” This is part of the reason why I chose a song for each chapter in EOL. It forced me to make all chapters worthy of a song. The song may not fit perfectly, but it’s connected to how I view that chapter in my mind. Consider it a 3-D experience:  First you read the words, and then you can listen to the song for an added dimension of story-telling.

I’ve loaded a partial playlist HERE on 8tracks. It’s partial because 8tracks doesn’t allow more than two songs by any given artist on any given playlist. So I had to cut several of the extra songs by Sanctus Real, Relient K, and The All-American Rejects. Below I’ll list all of the songs. Clicking on a song will take you to a YouTube video. Or you can view the entire YouTube playlist. If I had to choose only one song to represent EOL, it would be “I’m Not Alright” by Sanctus Real. Enjoy!

Ch. 1:  “Mercy” by One Republic

Ch. 2:  “Trust Me” by The Fray

Ch. 3:  “Bite My Tongue” by Relient K

Ch. 4:  “Eloquent” by Sanctus Real

Ch. 5:  “The Truth” by Relient K

Ch. 6:  “I’m Not Alright” by Sanctus Real

Ch. 7:  “Can’t Take It” by The All-American Rejects

Ch. 8:  “Pressing On” by Relient K

Ch. 9:  “Fly” by Sanctus Real

Ch. 10:  “Magnetic” by Sanctus Real

Ch. 11:  “Move Along” by The All-American Rejects

Ch. 12:  “Anger Cage” by Course of Nature

Ch. 13:  “The Fight Song” by Sanctus Real

Ch. 14:  “Straightjacket Feeling” by The All-American Rejects

Ch. 15:  “Goodbye, Apathy” by One Republic

Ch. 16:  “Learning to Breathe” by Switchfoot

Ch. 17:  “Change Your Mind” by The All-American Rejects

Ch. 18:  “High of 75” by Relient K

Ch. 19:  “Little House” by The Fray

Ch. 20:  “Change Me” by Sanctus Real

Ch. 21:  “4am” by Our Lady Peace

Ch. 22:  “We All Make Mistakes” by Submersed

Ch. 23:  “Breathe In Breathe Out” by Mat Kearney

Ch. 24:  “Believe in Dreams” by Flyleaf

Ch. 25:  “I Feel the Change” by Submersed

Ch. 26:  “Closer” by Sanctus Real

Ch. 27:  “We Need Each Other” by Sanctus Real

Ch. 28:  “Home” by Phillip Phillips


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s